Spec of PC for cracking

seedys50

Question

I have been running a PC for a couple of years for general cracking and it has been fine - its a pretty old machine - AMD A6-3500 with 8GB RAM, 500GB SSD for operating system and a 1TB drive for my downloads. I dont play games on PC. I found i could download through jdownloader and run vertex/sentry/storm in the background without any issue.

This last month the PC has been playing up and the CPU is running nearly 100% after some time - checked the highest usage and it was ESET antivirus. I removed this and replaced it with Avast and this is the same.

I have ran malwarebytes and the virus checker and its coming up clean.

My only option seems to be buy something new.

Can anyone suggest any good setups or a good processor/MB/RAM combo for a decent specced machine. I am on a budget so please dont go top of the range. I though about 300-350 should get me something decent. The graphics card can be built onto the motherboard as I dont play games.

• Like 1

5 answers to this question

Which Windows version are you running? Windows requires a lot of resources. Eset after a full system scan regulary calm down like most security software. Eset is good like Kaspersky. I have myself been using and running most security software out there you can think of. 

I do not run traditionally antivirus software anymore. Only ondemand like EEK or something like that when I need. I disable Windows bullshit Defender (tweak). Running Comodo Firewall with tweaked setting, it is strong protection and free. I am using the Sandboxing aspect the HIPS is disabled. It is better then all payed ones out there. But it needs knownledge in start for it to work good. 

You can run default-deny apps that give restriction instead of antivirus software. It will be a lot more CPU friendly. But if you wanted to use and run CPU friendly Antivirus software you can try out Webroot.